Archives Building Courthouse Downtown Welcome Library Rosewood Manor Courthouse Statue

County Council Meetings are held

the second Tuesday of the month at 9 AM &

the fourth Thursday of the month at 7 PM

         Dates County Offices Closed - 2019

  • January 1 - New Year
  • January 21 - Martin Luther King Day
  • April 19 - Good Friday
  • May 27 - Memorial Day
  • July 4 - Independence Day
  • September 2 - Labor Day
  • November 11 - Veterans' Day
  • November 28 & 29- Thanksgiving
  • December 24 - Christmas Eve
  • December 25 - Christmas Day


Marion County and its county seat, the town of Marion, were named for Revolutionary War general Francis Marion (1732-1795), known as the "Swamp Fox." In 1785 Liberty County was created as a part of Georgetown District; renamed Marion, it became a separate district in 1800. Parts of Marion later went to form Florence (1888) and Dillon (1910) counties. English settlers moved up the Great Pee Dee River into this area in the eighteenth century. During the Revolutionary War General Marion's men fought several skirmishes with the British here before retreating to their camp at Snows Island. In the twentieth century Marion County became a major tobacco growing region.

Search, View, and Pay Your Taxes Online

Marion County GIS 

County Council - for more information, click HERE.

View Online Bids HERE

View Marion County Job Openings HERE

View Marion County Animal Shelter HERE

Employee Safety Manual and Forms